Breaking News

DOH: 8 new cases of COVID-19 in Hawaii

As of 12 p.m. on March 22, the Department of Health has confirmed a total of 56 confirmed or presumptive positive cases of COVID-19 in Hawai‘i.

New positive results were received on Sunday for eight individuals on two islands. All new cases are Hawai‘i residents, per DOH.

Three people have required hospitalization; two remain hospitalized.

Officials say travel histories are pending, however, two of the new cases had definite travel, while two had contact with travelers.

In total, 48 cases are residents and eight are non-residents.  One of the new cases is a child, therefore, there are 54 adult and two pediatric cases.

COVID-19 Summary of Numbers as of March 22 at 12 p.m.

Total Number of Positive Cases

Statewide: 56

City & County of Honolulu: 41

County of Maui: 9

County of Kaua‘i: 3

County of Hawai‘i: 3

More than 2700 tests performed for people in Hawai‘i by private clinical labs to date. As the number of labs doing testing increases, so likely will the number of positive cases.

The DOH State Laboratories Division has tested 48 Persons Under Investigation (PUI) and 263 sentinel surveillance samples.  The 263 sentinel surveillance tests have all been negative. These are representative samples taken from every county from people with flu-like symptoms who tested negative for influenza.

Effective, Thursday, March 26, 2020, Governor David Ige has ordered that all persons entering the State of Hawai‘i to self-quarantine for 14 days or for the duration of their stay in Hawai‘i, whichever is shorter. Upon arrival, residents are required to self-quarantine in a designated location in their residence.  Visitors will self-quarantine in their hotel room or rented lodging. Self-quarantined individuals may only leave their designated locations for medical emergencies or to seek medical care. Failure to comply with all rules and protocols related to quarantines is punishable by fines of up to $5000 and/or imprisonment of up to one year.



Check Also

Gov. Ige extends COVID-19 emergency period through October and authorizes pre-travel testing program

Gov. David Ige today signed a 13th supplementary emergency proclamation that extends the COVID-19 emergency …