Breaking News

Lahainaluna defeats Kapaa 21-10 in Div. II State Football Final

The Lahainaluna varsity football team (11-1) won it’s fourth consecutive Division II state title with a 21-10 victory over Kapaa (8-2) on Friday night at Aloha Stadium.

This was the third meeting in the last four years between these two schools for the Div. II title. Both teams found success running the ball in 2019 and put together a combined 514-yards on the ground in Friday’s Championship game.

Joshua Tihada of Lahainaluna got into the endzone in the first quarter for the first score of the game. It was Tihada’s 21st rushing touchdown of the year.

Kapaa answered right back. Baba Na-O evened up the game with a one-yard touchdown run to tie the game at seven points.

But the Lunas would pull back ahead in the second quarter. Tihada, using his legs again, got a 22-yard scoring run to make it 14-7 Lahainaluna with 4:03 left in the first half.

A Laakea Gonsalves 23-yard field goal cut the Lunas lead to 14-10 going into halftime.

Then after the break, Joshua Tihada got loose again. He ran a score in from 40-yards out in the fourth quarter to make it 21-10 Lahainaluna. Tihada finished with 310-rushing yards and three touchdowns against the Warrior defense.

For Lahainaluna on defense, Tre Rickard got an interception and a late game sack to help seal the win.

With the win, four on the Lahainaluna team were able to win their fourth state title in their high school careers.



Check Also

MPD Traffic Officer springs into action to stop wrong-way driver from colliding with DUI Checkpoint

On Saturday, September 19, 2020 at about 1:24 a.m., Dekla Helgenberger (57) of Waiehu was …