Hawaii’s top music artists gets honored

Voting has begun for the 38th Annual Nā Hōku Hanohano Awards to be held on Saturday May 23, 2015 at the Hawaiian Convention Center. The 2015 honorees are: Henry Allen, Harold Hakuole, Ho‘opi‘i Brothers, Ron Jacobs, Kenneth Makuakāne, Jimmy Mo‘ikeha, and Puamana. The Krash Kealoha (Industry) Award has been conferred on the the Kamehameha Alumni Glee Club.

This year a hard copy ballot will NOT be mailed, instead pdfs of the ballot – the general categories (Album of the Year, Female Vocalist, Group, etc), as well as the genre categories (Hawaiian, Rock, Island, etc.) will be posted on the HARA website.

The Na Hoku Hanohano Awards, occasionally called the Na Hoku Awards or Hoku Awards, are the premier music awards in Hawaii, and are the Hawaiian equivalent of the Grammy Awards. The award winners are currently selected by the non-profit Hawai’i Academy of Recording Arts, which was founded in 1982.

Click here to download our mobile app for your iOS and Android device.



About Jon Viloria

Jon Viloria is the Field Production Director at MAUIWatch. Jon works in collaboration with staff writers and editors to create finished video productions. He also manages all location and studio videotaping, audio recording and processing, video editing, and the compositing of special video effects on a variety of media platforms. Jon is also owner of Maui based video company- Digital Audio Vision.

Check Also

Sept. 1 is New Date for Resumption of Trans-Pacific Travel

Calling the delay in re-opening trans-Pacific travel to Hawai‘i a very tough decision, Governor Ige …