Breaking News

DOE Expands Free Meal Program

This upcoming school year, the Hawai`i State Department of Education will expand a U.S. Department of Agriculture free meal program, called the Community Eligibility Provision, from 30 public schools to a total of 52 across the state.

The CEP program allows a school district, a group of schools or a single school to serve free meals to all students even if they do not qualify for free or reduced-priced lunch reimbursements.

“We are very pleased to be able to expand this program to 22 additional schools statewide to provide free meals for over 8,500 more students,” said Superintendent Kathryn Matayoshi.  “The program helped over 18,000 students to receive free meals over the past two years and provided significant relief for many families.”

No new Maui County Schools were added to the list. Hana High & Elementary School on Maui; Kaunakakai Elementary, Kilohana Elementary, Maunaloa Elementary, Molokai Middle, and Molokai High School on Molokai; and Lanai High & Elementary Schools on Lanai were already participating as of the 2016-17 school year.

To qualify for the CEP program, a district, grouping or school must have a minimum of 40 percent or more of its students eligible for free or reduced-price meals through the National School Lunch Program.

Currently HIDOE pays an average of $5.50 a meal (including food costs, labor, utilities, etc.). The USDA reimburses the state $3.89 for students who qualify for a free meal and $0.44 for those paying for a meal. HIDOE charges $2.50 for elementary school meals for a total of $2.94 in recouped cost for the state.

Under the program all students in the CEP school would qualify for the higher $3.89 reimbursement. While participating schools may no longer be collecting meal monies and ensuring accounts have sufficient funds, families will be required to provide information for data collection.

The 22 additional schools being added to the program in school year 2017-18 are:

Aiea El.
Central Middle
Governor Sanford B. Dole Middle
Kaala El.
Kaewai El.
Kahaluu El.
Kaiulani El.
Kalihi El.
Kauluwela El.
Mayor Joseph J. Fern El.
Palolo El.
Puuhale El.
Waipahu El.
William P. Jarrett Middle

Hawai`i Island
Chiefess Kapiolani El.
Hilo Union El.
Honaunau El.
Hookena El.
Keaukaha El.
Ke Kula O Ehunuikaimalino
Prince Jonah Kuhio Kalanianaole El. & Inter.
Waimea El.

The 30 schools (including the Maui participating schools above) already participating in the program in school year 2016-17 are:

Kekaha El.

Blanche Pope El.
Leihoku El.
Linapuni El.
Maili El.
Makaha El.
Nanaikapono El.
Nanakuli El.
Nanakuli High & Intermediate
Olomana School
Waianae El.
Waianae High
Waianae Middle
Waimanalo El. & Intermediate

Hawai`i Island
Kau High & Pahala El.
Keaau El.
Keaau High
Keaau Middle
Keonepoko El.
Mountain View El.
Naalehu El.
Pahoa El.
Pahoa High



Check Also

Michigan Woman Pulled from Waters off Hookipa Beach Park

At 1:08 p.m. on Wednesday, lifeguards at Hookipa Beach Park pulled an unresponsive female from …